Honda Foreman Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Swamped my 13 Rubicon. Have tipped quad up to drain water from exhaust, drained carb bowl, drained oil, removed plug and refilled. Was talking with a guy from the dealership who just recommended a couple of oil changes and didn't recommend using anything like seafoam or marvel mystery oil. I am reading good things about the marvel mystery oil but not sure if I should use it or not. Anyone have any advice? Would.greatly appreciate it.

·
Registered
327 Posts
With the plug removed, spin the motor over a few times to get all the water out, change oil. Run for a little bit and change oil again. You might want to check your front and rear differential oil and make sure there's no water in there also. That's what I would do besides what you have already done, but I'm no expert.

·
Premium Member
6,216 Posts
Flushing is a crapshoot, especially with a Hondamatic.

If you got lucky and sank it in clear, clean water, you MIGHT get by with a flush. More than likely you got all kinds of other crap in your motor with that water that won't all come out with a flush, so eventually you'll have a smoking engine when the grit that was suspended in the water ends up in your rings and cylinder, or worse, it kills your Hondamatic.

The proper way to do this is to tear the entire engine down and thoroughly clean it out, and then reassemble. If you want to try the easy way, do multiple oil changes and keep your fingers crossed. I wouldn't use any mystery oil or the like. Just use something like Rotella T4 that's cheap and wet clutch approved.

·
Registered
3,418 Posts
what jeep said
there is NO way to KNOW for sure that the inside of your motor is NOT holding destroying dirt and ??? without tearing it down

you can change oil, flush till the cows come home and all your doing is gambling!
some times you will win , many times you will not