Honda Foreman Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I am new to this and I have read a lot of useful information on here, but I have still not yet been able to fix my problem. My 2000 Honda Foreman 450S will turn over but not crank. The kill switch is on. The gas is on. The plug has fire and we did replace it with a new plug just in case the plug itself was bad. I also adjusted the air flow/fuel screw on carburetor just in case that would help it crank. It did not. It was cranking for two days after a while of turning over now it will not crank at all. Just turns over only. Can someone please tell me something else that I may try? I am running out of ideas short of replacing the carburetor. Thanks!

·
Premium Member
13,198 Posts
How good is the compression?

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Compression is good. Now I get no fire at all. Just turns over. I need to find out how to test the coil on this thing to see if maybe it is bad. Stator tested good and CDI was replaced not too long ago. Any idea on how to test the coil?

·
Registered
3,417 Posts
was the CDI you replaced a OEM< or an aftermarket one?
I have never had any luck with aftermarket CDI"S
last one I tried failed in about 3 weeks or less?
and any chance its jumped time?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
We just replaced the carburetor and put a new handlebar switch on it. Cranked and ran fine for one day. Died, will just turn over again and not crank??? Charged battery back up to 100%, cranked right up! Died again, will not crank back!!! It was an aftermarket CDI that we used to replace the original with. Anyway to test it to see if it is bad? If it has jumped time, it wouldnt crank at all would it? It is like it cranks once a day, and after that its 24 hours before it will crank again. I know this sounds crazy but that has been the way it has done for 2 weeks!

·
Registered
54 Posts