Honda Foreman Forums banner

Which is better S or ES? and other questions from a noobie

37K views 11 replies 10 participants last post by  LYCABOSS 
#1 ·
I have the S version so it's really too late to change my mind there but wondering what the general consensus is. I've always thought the S version is more robust and cheaper to repair if needed. The ES is definitely more convenient but I'm an engineer, I'd rather have robustness than ease of use.

While I'm at it I might as well ask if there's a stickied post on the typical maintainence items you should do when buying a used vehicle. I'd guess oil and filter, plug, and air filter? Also going to be looking for a battery soon, been pull starting but planning to add a snow plow for next winter. From what I've seen so far, man the batteries are insanely expensive. Is there a good priced source, likely mail order, or some type of alternate battery that may be close to the correct size? It's tough looking at paying more for my atv battery than my 800cca van uses, and with a worse (if any) warranty :p

I bought this thing out of a neighborhood garage and it's virtually perfect with very low time. Only down side is it's a 99 so no 2/4wd switching. Looks like it was probably rode around on the street more than anything. Do any foreman's come with locked 4wd or just limited slip front? Is this a weakness? I've noticed some utility's have a locked mode which would seem superior for hardcore off roading.

Found used snow plow on craigslist, was attached to a rincon. Any chance of direct fit up? Moose brand. Suggestions for inexpensive winch? I've seen $99 at tractor supply and even cheaper at harbor freight. Doubtful I'll ever submerge over the winch, I'm pretty boring. Are second seats available for foreman? Referring to those with back and armrest that bolt to the rear rack.

Forgive me for all the questions, new to the "scene".

See less See more
#2 ·